Last verified against the sources below. Requirements change — confirm with your Board before you rely on this page. This is general information, not legal advice.

MD (medical doctor)

Hours
0.5 hours
How often
Every renewal
Who
Every licensee
Renewal cycle
Renews every 2 years; licenses expire at January 31 of even-numbered years (next: January 31, 2028).
Providers
Only courses from providers named in the Board rule count.
Board
Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Physicians Licensing Board
The rule
Confirm with your Board DOPL's renewal page lists completing at least one of three online suicide prevention trainings (Suicide Safety Planning with Patients, Talking to Patients About Suicide, or Counseling on Access to Lethal Means; 0.5 credit each, counted as CE) as a renewal requirement. The basis is Utah Code 58-1-601 and Utah Admin. Code R156-1-601: primary care providers may meet up to 10 CE hours with the Division's suicide prevention videos or other "Division-approved" suicide prevention materials or courses (CALM training, the DHHS Suicide Prevention Summit); only those count. The rule does not state a frequency or whether every physician must take it, so confirm with DOPL (le.utah.gov could not be opened on 2026-10-08).

DO (osteopathic physician)

Hours
0.5 hours
How often
Every renewal
Who
Every licensee
Renewal cycle
Renews every 2 years; licenses expire at May 31 of even-numbered years (next: May 31, 2028).
Providers
Only courses from providers named in the Board rule count.
Board
Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's Licensing Board
The rule
Confirm with your Board DOPL's renewal page lists completing at least one of three online suicide prevention trainings (Suicide Safety Planning with Patients, Talking to Patients About Suicide, or Counseling on Access to Lethal Means; 0.5 credit each, counted as CE) as a renewal requirement. The basis is Utah Code 58-1-601 and Utah Admin. Code R156-1-601: primary care providers may meet up to 10 CE hours with the Division's suicide prevention videos or other "Division-approved" suicide prevention materials or courses (CALM training, the DHHS Suicide Prevention Summit); only those count. The rule does not state a frequency or whether every physician must take it, so confirm with DOPL (le.utah.gov could not be opened on 2026-10-08).

Facts marked “Confirm with your Board” are unsettled in the sources; the note says what to check.

What to do next

Other states that require it

Nevada, Washington. Every state that requires it

Sources

  1. Utah DOPL — Physician and Surgeon: Renew a License
  2. Utah Admin. Code R156-67 — Utah Medical Practice Act Rule (R156-67-303, -304; effective December 24, 2024)
  3. Utah Code 58-67-304 — License renewal requirements (effective July 1, 2025)
  4. Utah Code 58-37-303 — Continuing education for controlled substance prescribers (effective May 6, 2026)
  5. Utah Department of Commerce — Controlled Substance License Education Requirements
  6. Utah Admin. Code R156-37-402 — Continuing education for controlled substance prescribers
  7. Utah Admin. Code R156-1-601 — Suicide prevention education
  8. DOPL — Approved Continuing Education for Prescribers (v.2026.07.28, PDF)
  9. Utah DOPL — Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon: Renew a License
  10. Utah Admin. Code R156-68 — Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act Rule (R156-68-303, -304)
  11. Utah Code 58-68-304 — License renewal requirements (effective July 1, 2025)

MD facts last verified October 8, 2026 · DO facts last verified October 8, 2026.